



2025 BC Speed Skating Association Annual General Meeting Minutes

Sunday June 8, 2024

List of Member Delegates:

see attached

List of Guests:

Alexandra Wrage - SSC Board Member Dave McQuad - Past President SSBC

Members not present:

see attached

Meeting was called to order at 9:27am

Opening Comments: Kari Rae

Welcome to our guests:

Alexandra Wrage - SSC Board Member

Dave McQuad - Past President SSBC

Land Acknowledgement

Speed Skating BC acknowledges that we are honoured to be here today on the traditional, ancestral and unceded territory of the Stó:lō and Coast Salish peoples. We are committed to the role sport plays in reconciliation.

Meeting was called to order at 9:27am

1. Adoption of Rules of Order

Motion to accept Robert's Rules of Order for the proceedings of the 2025 Annual General Meeting made by Mae Shupe (Ridge Meadows) seconded by Emily Pos (Fort St John).









Motion passed unanimously.

- 2. Establishment of Quorum and Confirmation of Voting Delegates *Motion to accept the establishment of quorum for the meeting as outlined in ByLaw 5.2 as there are 15 clubs present made by Mark Miao (Tri Cities) seconded by Graeme Jahns (Burnaby). Motion passed unanimously.*
- 3. Appoint recording Secretary for the Meeting

Motion to accept Valerie Linton as recording secretary for the meeting made by Shawna Bester seconded by Christine Hank. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Appoint Scrutineers for the election

Motion to accept Richard Krieck and Jodi Roberts as Scrutineers for the meeting made by Shawna Bester (Sardis) seconded by Christine Hank (Kelowna).

Motion passed unanimously.

5. Approval of Agenda of 2025 Annual General Meeting,

Motion to accept Richard Krieck and Jodi Roberts as Scrutineers for the meeting made by Mae Shupe (Ridge Meadows) and seconded by Emily Pos (Fort St John).

Motion passed unanimously.

6. Approval of Minutes of 2024 Annual General Meeting,

Motion to accept the Agenda of the 2025 Annual General Meeting as presented made by Mae Shupe (Ridge Meadows) and seconded by Barb Beck (Tri Cities).

Motion passed unanimously.

7. Report from the Board of Directors

Motion to acknowledge receipt of the Board Report as received made by Mark Miao (Tri Cities) and seconded by Graeme Jahns (Burnaby).









Motion passed unanimously.

- 8. Approval of the Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2025, *Motion to approve the Financial Statement for the year ending March 31, 2025 as presented made by Gillian Goud (Kamloops) seconded by Shawna Bester (Ridge Meadows). Motion passed unanimously.*
- Appointment of the Auditor for 2025-2026 fiscal year,
 - Motion to Appoint the firm of KENNETH A. FORCIER CPA INC as the Auditor for the 2025-2026 fiscal year made by Corrie Bennie (Fort St John) seconded by Emily Pos (Fort St John). Motion passed unanimously.
- 10. Policy Ratification,

Motion to accept Policy Changes as presented at the policy review meeting on May 26, 2025 made by Emily Pos (Fort St John) seconded by Dianne Raymond (Vanderhoof).

- Motion passed unanimously.
- 11. Election of Board of Directors,
 - President Scott Stewart
 - **Vice President Graeme Jahns**
 - Treasurer Cindy Lu
 - Secretary Corrie Bennie
 - Board Member at Large Ngoc Huynh
 - **Board Member at Large Emily Klapstein**
 - **Board Member at Large Janna Nemeth**
- 12. Election of Committees,
 - Athlete Development No nominations Athlete Representative on Athlete Development Committee - Samaira Nemeth









Coach Development Committee - Dianne Raymond and Richard Stickel Officials Development Committee - Amanda Leonard and Tina Peters Sport Development Committee - Tara Calder and Cameron Eggie Awards Committee - Janet Lakusta Records Committee - Alana Lawhead

13. In Memoriam

Dave McQuaid said a few words honouring Ted Houghton as prepared by Stu Gibbs, ISU Referee and past BC Speed Skating Executive Director Kari Rae said a few words about Ariadn Holness de Hiller of the Prince George Club.

14. Closing Remarks.

Motion to adjourn the meeting made by Gillian Goud (Kamloops) at 10:54am.





Sunday Checked In	Name	Email	Club	Number of Votes
\checkmark	Alana Lawhead	alana.lawhead@speedskatingbc.ca	Board	1
\checkmark	Carol Dougan	carol.dougan@speedskatingbc.ca	Board	1
\checkmark	Kari Rae	kari.rae@speedskatingbc.ca	Board	1
\checkmark	Keven Fitzpatrick	keven.fitzpatrick@speedskatingbc.ca	Board	1
\checkmark	Rich Matthews	rich.matthews@speedskatingbc.ca	Board	1
\checkmark	Scott Stewart	scott.stewart@speedskatingbc.ca	Board	1
\checkmark	Diane Silzer	dlsilzer@gmail.com	Burnaby Speed Skating Club	3
	Graeme Jahns	graeme.jahns@gmail.com	Burnaby Speed Skating Club	3
			Dawson Creek Speed Skating Club	
			Esquimalt Speed Skating Club	
\checkmark	Keith Gordon	kggordon@telus.net	Fort St James	3
\checkmark	Cameron Eggie	cameron.a.eggie@gmail.com	Fort St.John Recreational and speedskating club	2
\checkmark	Corrie Bennie	benniebrat@hotmail.com	Fort St.John Recreational and speedskating club	2
\checkmark	Emily Pos	emilypos@shaw.ca	Fort St.John Recreational and speedskating club	2
\checkmark	Gillian Gould	gillian.goud@kamloopslongblades.ca	Kamloops Long Blades	3
\checkmark	Tyler Roberts	hgflex@hotmail.com	Kamloops Long Blades	3
\checkmark	Christine Hank	christinehank@shaw.ca	Kelowna Speed Skating Club	6
	Not attending		Kimberley Speed Skating Club	
			Langley Blades Speed Skating	
	Not attending		Mackenzie Speed Skating Club	
\checkmark	Janna Nemeth	Joey_janna@hotmail.com	Matsqui Blades Speed Skating Association	3
\checkmark	Tara Calder	taramcalder@hotmail.com	Mission Racers Speed Skating Club	5
\checkmark	Brad Mathewson	bmathewson@gmail.com	Peninsula Speed Skating Club	3
\checkmark	Alena Xu	8916686@gmail.com	Port Coquitlam Speed Skating Club	1
\checkmark	Barb Beck	barbbeck00@gmail.com	Port Coquitlam Speed Skating Club	1
\checkmark	Jeanne Chen	chen_2902@hotmail.com	Port Coquitlam Speed Skating Club	1
\checkmark	Mark Miao	miaogang@hotmail.com	Port Coquitlam Speed Skating Club	1
\checkmark	Seungjoo Lang	sjlee77@gmail.com	Port Coquitlam Speed Skating Club	1
\checkmark	Terry Chen	terry_c1130@hotmail.com	Port Coquitlam Speed Skating Club	1
			Prince George Blizzard Speed Skating Club	
TRUE -	Janet Lakusta	lakspeedskating@gmail.com	Richmond Rockets Speed Skating Club	6
\checkmark	Denis Boyer	generalboyer@gmail.com	Ridge Meadows Racers Speed Skating Association	1
\checkmark	Eden Green	edengreen2000@gmail.com	Ridge Meadows Racers Speed Skating Association	1
\checkmark	Julian Green	julianwgreen@gmail.com	Ridge Meadows Racers Speed Skating Association	1
\checkmark	Mae Shupe	shorttrackshupe@gmail.com	Ridge Meadows Racers Speed Skating Association	1
\checkmark	Shelley Abbott	shelley_abbott@telus.net	Ridge Meadows Racers Speed Skating Association	1

Sunday Checked In	Name	Email	Club	Number of Votes
	Tammy Bastiaanse		Salmon Arm Ice Breakers Speed Skating Club	
\checkmark	Sandra Rae	ssrae@shaw.ca	Sardis Fliers Speed Skating Club	2
\checkmark	Shawna Bester	bester.shawna@gmail.com	Sardis Fliers Speed Skating Club	1
\checkmark	Jhenifer Pabillano	president@vancouverspeedskating.cor	Vancouver Speed Skating Club	6
\checkmark	Dianne Raymond	dianne.raymond@speedskatingbc.ca	Vanderhoof Clippers Speed Skating Club	2
\checkmark	Doug Ebbott	dmebbott@gmail.com	Vanderhoof Clippers Speed Skating Club	2
	Not attending		Vernon Speed Skating Club	
			Williams Lake Speed Skating	