Team BC Canada Winter Games 2023

TEAM BC at Canada Winter Games 2023

British Columbia’s speed skaters have been intently training to represent TEAM BC at the 2023 Canada Winter Games in PEI.  Skaters will compete alongside provincial and territorial teams  from across Canada in both short and long track speed skating.  The multi-sport games is always distinctive in being held every four years.  This quadrennial is  particularly notable as skaters have faced a variety of challenges and disruptions in  training and competing throughout the course of the pandemic.

Following the successful completion of Push 2 PEI and the respective Long Track and Short Track Team BC Selection Trials, Speed Skating BC is pleased to announce the teams representing TEAM BC at Canada Winter Games 2023 in PEI.  Congratulations to all skaters!

Short Track – five females and five males join Speed Skating BC Provincial Coach Nicole Garrido and Team Manager Keven Fitzpatrick:

Calla Haaheim, Kelowna
Charlotte Sernoski, Vancouver
Gabrielle Oetomo, Burnaby
Kierana Laut, Port Coquitlam
Nora Wagner, Burnaby

Caroline Dong, Port Coquitlam (first alternate)
Manuela Escobar Ballen, Richmond (second alternate)

Erik Haaheim, Kelowna
Barnett Liu, Port Coquitlam
Roanan Tien-Vidal, Richmond
Ryan Bolton, Richmond
Paul-Philip Astor, Richmond

Mattias Daniels, Ridge Meadows (first alternate)
Daniel Li, Richmond (second alternate)

Long Track – four females and four males join Speed Skating BC Provincial Coach Jennifer Gibson and Team Manager Adam Ingle:

Brooke Braun, Fort St. John
Hannah North, Fort St. John
Elizabeth Smith, Port Coquitlam
Sidney Bennie, Fort St. John

Maria Hansen, Fort St. John (first alternate)
Cheyanne Key, Fort St. John (second alternate)

Jack Hanson, Fort St. John
Matthew Mitchell, Fort St. John
Kieran Hanson, Fort St. John
Nick Guliov, Fort St. John

Mattias Daniels, Ridge Meadows (first alternate)
Nate Benn, Vernon (second alternate)

Benjamin Konwicki, Prince George (third alternate)